The ASOSU Senate was established in 1940 and has had its current form since 2009.  The Senate consists of twelve members elected at large from the student body for terms of two years.  The Senate is tasked primarily with maintaining the ASOSU Statutes and is the primary lawmaking body of the ASOSU. The Senate also meets regularly over the summer.

The ASOSU Senate holds weekly meetings Tuesdays at 7 pm in the MU 109.  |  Standing Rules of the ASOSU Senate


President of the Senate: KYLIE BOENISCH

Contact Information

541-737-6300  |  SEC 288  |


Members of the 79th ASOSU Senate

Kylie Boenisch (President of the Senate), Senator Isabel Núñez Pérez, Senator Christopher Wilson, Senator Michael Haffner, Senator Theresa Nguyen, Senator Jordan Harper, Senator Emily Warren, Senator Nikolay Galtsev (Fall Term Proxy, Senator Sam McNinch), Senator Dylan Young, Senator Brendan Lefranc, and Senator Metzin Aketzali Rodriguez Cardoso. There are currently three vacant seats in the ASOSU Senate


Members of Senate pass two forms of legislation known as bills and resolutions. Bills are binding acts of Congress that affect ASOSU internally. Resolutions are non-binding acts of Congress which express the opinion of the students and/or the student government. When a resolution that is making a specific request to the university is passed, it is sent to the director of the department that oversees that issue.

Any student at Oregon State University can author a resolution in support of or in opposition of an issue that affects students. All legislation must be sponsored by a member of the House or Senate. 


Senate Committees

Oversight and Ethics

The Oversight and Ethics Committee shall monitor operations of the branches of government in an effort to maintain balance and separation of powers.
The Oversight and Ethics Committee shall establish and maintain an ASOSU Code of Conduct for Officers, Employees and Elected Officials and monitor the ASOSU to ensure the Code of Conduct is followed.

Student Government

The Student Government Committee shall be responsible for incorporating new legislation and Constitutional amendments during that academic year into the ASOSU Constitution and Statutes.The Student Government Committee shall review and make necessary revisions to the Constitution and Statutes on a yearly basis. When necessary, the committee shall present revisions to the Constitution and Statutes to the ASOSU Senate for formal approval.
The Student Government Committee shall review all bills dealing directly with ASOSU structure, policies, and Senate related business.


The Outreach committee shall review and provide assistance on all student and campus issues not delegated to other Senate Standing Committees.The Student Outreach Committee shall be tasked with hosting Student Town Hall meetings. The committee shall recommend legislation to other committees or individual Senators based on the information gained at these meetings.

Senator Michael Haffner: TBD in Fall 

Senator Theresa Nguyen: TBD in Fall

Senator Jordan Harper: TBD in Fall 

Senator Isabel Núñez Pérez: TBD in Fall

Senator Metzin Aketzali Rodriguez Cardoso: TBD in Fall

Senator Dylan Young: TBD in Fall

Senator Emily Warren: TBD in Fall

Senator Nikolay Galtsev (Proxy: Sam McNinch): TBD in Fall

Senator Christopher Wilson: TBD in Fall

Senator Brendan Lefranc: TBD in Fall

Summer availability by appointment only. Please reach out to their onid emails or to to connect with a Senator over the summer.


Student Government Committee

Meetings: TBD
Chair: TBD

Jordan Harper

Other members TBD

Ethics Committee 

Meetings: TBD 
Chair: Isabel Núñez Pérez

Christopher Wilson

Michael Haffner 



Student Outreach Committee 

Meetings: TBD 
Chair: Theresa Nguyen 

Emily Warren

Metzin Aketzali Rodriguez Cardoso

Nikolay Galtsev (Proxy: Sam McNinch)